top of page
Search
  • lexiekristinlee

The Power of a Compliment

Updated: Feb 26, 2021

When was the last time you got a compliment, better yet when was the last time you gave a compliment? I’m sure regardless of if you were the one receiving or giving the compliment it felt good! Prepare for story time: Sometime in the last few weeks, I of course had assignments that dragged me into the next day, so I was in dire need of some brain food. I drove over to my lovely neighborhood Jack in the Box. Now let me just inform you this was after midnight; grave shifts can be slow and boring. I proceed to order my Siracha Curly Fry Burger Munchie meal (so yummy) and pull up to the window to pay, she tells me my total and asks me if I wanted any sauce. As were talking, all I can think is I love her pink hair and her energy. She hands me a drink and gathers my food and hands me the nifty little munchie meal box, I then proceed to say, “Hey, I need to tell you something”. I’m sure at this point she’s praying I’m not what teenagers these days call a “Karen” (sorry to all the Karen’s out there who do not act like a Karen, I love you). Then I say, “I love your hair and you’re just so pretty”. I could instantly see her eyes light up as she said “you have no idea how much I needed to hear something nice today. Thank you, I hope you have a good night”.

Listen I knew nothing about this girl other than her hair color and where she works, but that simple compliment gave her joy and let her know that even strangers care! The power of a compliment should not be taken lightly especially in 2021. We are all struggling some mentally, physical, or financially yet we have no idea what is running through every person’s mind that we cross paths with throughout the day. My words of kindness could have meant nothing, but they also could have made that graveyard shift she was working so much better. Please remember that you do not know what the person in front of you at your local coffee shop (or store or so on) is going through and they may just need a few extra minutes to order. Kindness is key to happiness, give it out like candy on Halloween night if you can. You may just find yourself being the highlight of someone’s day!

IG @lexiekristinlee


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page